CEDAW Election Results (2020)

The term of 12 CEDAW committee members will expire in December 2020. The election was originally scheduled to be held in June 2020 in New York, but had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 crisis. It finally took place on 9 November 2020.

We congratulate the newly elected as well as re-elected members of the CEDAW committee and look forward to working with them.

Those elected to fill the positions are listed below, together with links to completed questionnaires which they supplied to the UNTB Elections website. Further biographical data is hosted by OHCHR.

Name Country Member since Geographic distribution Remarks
Bandana Rana Nepal 2017 Asia Pacific re-elected
Corrine Dettmeijer Netherlands 2021 Western Europe & Others first term
Dalia Leinarte Lithuania 2013 Eastern Europe re-elected
Hilary Gbedemah Ghana 2013 Africa re-elected
Jie Xia China 2021 Asia Pacific first term
Leticia Bonifaz Alfonzo Mexico 2021 Latin America & Caribbean first term
Marion Bethel Bahamas 2017 Latin America & Caribbean re-elected
Nahla Haidar Lebanon 2013 Asia Pacific re-elected
Natasha Stott Despoja Australia 2021 Western Europe & Others first term
Nicole Ameline France 2009 Western Europe & Others re-elected
Rosario Manalo Philippines 2017 Asia Pacific previous terms 1996-2006, 2016-2020


For a more detailed breakdown of geographical distribution of candidates and appointees, along with their number of terms, please see our resource CEDAW Committee Elections Update 2021.

We wish the outgoing members of the CEDAW committee all the very best, and appreciate their contribution in ensuring that states and other actors around the world are held accountable to uphold women’s human rights and obligations under the international human rights framework.